Wedding Plans: Venues on a budget!

As they always say when planning the wedding…after the budget is set, find the perfect venue!

I have decided long ago that I didn’t want a super fancy wedding (quite contrary to what I had imagined when I was young) and being a more mature aged bride, I wanted something that is reasonable on the budget.  Living in one of the most beautiful cities in the world (I say with pride *smiles*) I am lucky that this city offers a variety of venues in which to hold my reception.  Depending on the type of venue, it can range from a few thousand upto $20k (think Vancouver Convention Centre).  You can also be creative if you’re not able to get the breathtaking scenery that some venues can offer.  For instance, did you know that the Vancouver Aquarium and Science World both offer up their locations for a unique wedding experience? true story!

We decided early on that Heritage Hall, in the middle of the bustling busy Mount Pleasant neighborhood would be our main choice, if not our back-up.  It’s more urban than I would have liked and I guess maybe that’s why I wanted to look further.  In terms of affordability, it’s one that doesn’t break the bank, but it is just the venue.  Being inexpensive gets you a blank canvas to work with, and though they offer chairs and tables, that’s pretty much the extent of it.  I’d have to outsource everything from décor to catering (which I didn’t mind).

The second choice which I think I’m leaning toward is Van Dusen Botanical Gardens.  It is the sight of my fave annual event, the Festival of Lights.  It’s slightly more expensive but you do get more bang for your buck offering a much more beautiful scenery.  It has wall to wall windows on one side which looks out into their beautiful gardens.  I am falling more inlove with the venue everytime I look at it!

Whether it’s urban or more nature-filled setting, it’s important to love the venue–not just the indoor space– but also the surrounding area.  The city is so beautiful, why create a backdrop when the city does that all on its own?

Comment below if you’ve had your wedding at interesting venues, i’m always up for suggestions!

Leave a Reply

