Health & Fitness: The progress

20150309-110505.jpg

It’s been six weeks since I was fat-shamed. It wasn’t even a blatant fat-shame, it was worse because it was disguised in a compliment. Why people do that I will never know–it’s even worse that women do it to each other! It’s also been six weeks since I’ve tried to turn my diet and physical fitness regimen around to amazingly great results!

I haven’t been this happy about my weight in so long. It’s not even just the weight itself as I haven’t weighed myself since I started this journey, but more the feeling that I can fit my clothes without the feel of overflowing in certain places. I feel like I’m returning back to my old self of being healthier and happier. I never thought it would be possible, especially since I reached my 30s where they say your metabolism slows considerably. I can’t be happier overall that I feel more at my best now than I’ve ever been in a long while.

20150309-110517.jpg

Don’t mind the face lol I had just woken up and was getting ready to head to the gym when I thought to try my old romper that is a size zero. I ordered it online but never got to use it as I was in denial that I was a size larger and had been for some time. I tried ti for the first time since I bought it and it fits! I don’t recommend to drop down in size if it’s not your healthy weight, but I had always been a healthy 105lbs for being a small person standing at under 5 feet tall.

I can’t vouch for any one thing that I’ve been doing, but just researching ways to get healthy and putting in the effort to be conscious of what I eat and what I don’t makes such a difference. I think the single most life changing part was the fact that I didn’t just try to cop out by just going to the gym and barely changing my diet. Trying to be more fit involves healthier eating as well as more physical activity–both of which I did each of but never together.

Some tips for motivation and starting point:

  • Start small, but more importantly, START. You won’t get moving if you never start, no matter how small.
  • Find a goal and use it! Mine started out as my wedding, but then evolved into just being my old, healthier, self!
  • Get some cute workout gear! This may sound vain, but sometimes a cute outfit can motivate!
  • Push yourself. I am not always up for working out but sometimes I push myself just to get out of bed and into my workout clothes. I don’t give myself a chance to say no.
  • Research. Don’t just start trying anything without researching it first! If you are a newbie to some of the exercise tips or health tips you have heard or read about, don’t just try it but read about it and research it! Get more informed about what you do to your body and what you put into your body!
  • Keep track of your progress. Keep track of your progress, and don’t get discouraged no matter how small it is. Progress is ongoing and it can only get better if you keep pushing! When I first started, I didn’t see much progress and got tempted to stop, but I gave it more time and kept track of my progress and started to get more motivated by it! Use your progress to give you that extra push on those days you don’t have much strength to go on.
  • Find your own rhythm. One important lesson that I’ve learnt is that everyone’s body responds in different ways and what may work for one person may not work for another. It’s important to find your own work-out routine ad rhythm because going by someone else’s regimen may not necessarily work for your body or schedule. I work out half an hour about 3 to 4 times a week depending on what my schedule allows. I don’t try to go beyond what i truly can’t handle but I do try to push myself a little each time just to progress. You know best what works so work within that!

I hope my tips helped out and my little progress update gave some the motivation they need to start. It’s not a brag, I don’t want to make it seem like being skinny is what I’m trying to achieve. I also don’t profess to be a health guru or an expert, if anything health and fitness seems to be an ongoing struggle and lifelong learning for me. I am trying to achieve my healthy weight for my height. I am trying to make myself healthier and make more healthier decisions and choices that may affect my family and when I eventually have kids. As long as you are happy with your weight and feeling healthy then that should be the primary concern!

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

