Dinner at Mama Lee’s: Black and White with Espadrilles

IMG_0588

Home cooking in my opinion is always a good idea, so when I got a recommendation out of a random conversation about food with a co-worker to go to a ‘hole in a wall’ type place for really good haianese chicken I was all over it!  At first my plan was just to visit the place sometime next week as it was a busy next two days for us prepping for the BBQ for Saturday, but when the power went out and we had no power to cook dinner or be able to open the fridge (lest the cold air comes out and ruins all our groceries) so I took it as a sign! To make the best of an unfortunate situation of a power outage, I convinced hubby to head down to Kits area (quite far, almost UBC Area) to try out Mama Lee’s. IMG_0587

If you ever get a chance to head down there, you won’t regret it.  I didn’t doubt my coworker as he’s usually come through with recommendations of good places to eat, so I had no problem taking his word on this.  Walking into it you won’t think much of the tiny place that is nestled in the heart of the countless restos and pubs in the area.  In fact, walking by it, you would probably miss it altogether! The décor isn’t much, but it doesn’t reflect the richness in the taste of food! We ordered the Haianese Chicken with rice and soup (duh, it is afterall what I came there for! Lol) and Curry Beef Brisket on rice.  I didn’t think it was enough for us, but because I have been wrong in the past (ordering with my eyes and being deceived!) I decided to see after we’ve gotten both dishes to decide.

IMG_0589 IMG_0590

It was certainly good food!! I’ve tried a few that maybe could compare, but this was the most delicious by far.  I am now a convert.  Too bad it’s all the way in Kits!  If you are ever in the area, go in! Eat! You won’t regret it! Did I mention the price is good and reasonable? It’s on 3144 West Broadway, Mama Lee’s.

IMG_0593What I wore:

Top: BCBG

Shorts: Zara

Sandals: Tory Burch

Bag: Forever 21

Sunnies: Raybans

 

Leave a Reply

