Home-Cooking: Tamarind soup

Happy First day of Fall everyone!

This is my favorite season by far, when the leaves turn to lovely shades of orange, and the air gets just cold enough to miss the summer but get excited for the holiday season ahead!

So, I’m not quite recovered yet and haven’t really been taking pics of outfits, but I thought I’d share my husband and my first attempt to make one of my favorite (and I think his) Filipino dishes, Sinigang na Baboy, or Pork Tamarind Soup? Lol. My dad has always made a good version of this dish and ever since moving to our place, I wanted to be able to recreate it! I pressed my dad for more info during our Sunday dinner on how to make it, and finally last night we did!

I think it’s safe to say that it turned out well.

I love that my husband and I can be such a great team in the kitchen and we are able to make dinner together.

Want to know how these veggies turn into a yummy, fall worthy soup?

IMG_1685

We pretty much winged it, but here’s what we did:

Ingredients:

2 full racks of sideribs (the short ones not the baby back ribs)

2 eggplants

4 tomatoes

half an onion

A head of garlic

10 cups of water

1 Tamarind powder mix

a bunch of spinach

a bunch of greenbeans

 

Directions:

Boil the ribs for an hour or so to soften them and to set up the broth for the soup and prep the vegetables by cutting them so that it’s ready to throw in later on.

Once the pork is soft, take it out, pour the whole tamarind mix and add the tomatoes, onions and garlic together and throw the ribs back in.  Cover and bring to a boil.

Throw in the eggplant and greenbeans and cover the pot once more until the vegetables are cooked and the greenbeans are cooked but still have a crunch to them.  Once the rest of the veggies are cooked, throw in the spinach last so that it’s not too wilted.

Once the spinach is cooked, it’s ready to serve!

IMG_1686

It is perfect for a rainy, fall day in my opinion.  Simply delish!

Leave a Reply

